Prairie Country Government

217 West Park Street, Terry, MT 59349-0125

Welcome to Prairie County

Prairie County offers rural living at its best: wide open spaces under the “Big Sky”, plenty of recreational opportunities, and an old-fashioned sense of western hospitality.   

Prairie County was formed in February of 1915 from part of Custer County, Dawson County, and Fallon County. The county seat is located in Terry - the only incorporated town in the county. Other communities are Fallon and Mildred.


Prairie County Courthouse
217 West Park Street
Terry, MT  59349-0125

Courthouse is open:
Monday through Friday
8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and
1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.





Prairie County, located in eastern montana along the Yellowstone River, is home to scenic Badlands and plentiful hunting and fishing opportunities.


Prairie County - Home of the Evelyn Cameron Gallery