Prairie County Government

217 West Park Street, Terry, MT 59349-0125


The Prairie County Airport was established shortly after World War II and has been in operation since that time.
The original site contained approximately 80 acres and is located one-quarter mile due south of the Town of Terry.

The airport has a single lighted runway of approximately 4300 feet, and it can accommodate aircraft weighing 12,500 pounds or less. There are seven airplane tiedowns, and three private hangars.

In 2000, the Airport Board did a comprehensive improvement project for the airport, consisting of reconstruction of the runway, taxiway and apron, and lighting.

A five-member Airport Board governs the administration and operation of the airport. The Board members are appointed by the Prairie County Commission and the Terry Town Council. Board members serve five-year terms.


Prairie County Airport Board

  • Willis Bartholomay
  • George Blakely
  • Todd Tibbetts
  • Dale Galland
  • Dwight Tague



New runway at Prairie County Airport
2006 Photo by Lisa Kimmet