Prairie County Government

217 West Park Street, Terry, MT 59349-0125


Keifer Lewis, Sheriff
Tim Therrien, Undersheriff
Jonathan Arnold, Deputy
Kristy Shannon, Administrative Assistant

Office Hours:
8:00 a.m. – noon and 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday
217 West Park Street
PO Box 126
Terry, MT 59349-0126
Phone 406-635-5738
Fax 406-635-4126


The Prairie County Sheriff’s office is the chief law enforcement agency in Prairie County. It is comprised of three full-time sworn officers and contracts with Fallon County (Baker), Montana for dispatch services. The sheriff’s office provides general law enforcement, court security, civil service, and search and rescue operations for the citizens of Prairie County in a service area of 1730 square miles. Additionally, the agency contracts with the Town of Terry for law enforcement services for that jurisdiction.

The Prairie County Sheriff also serves as the fire warden for rural Prairie County. The rural fire department is staffed by trained volunteers.

The Sheriff’s office also provides many services not specifically required by law including livestock/brand inspections, rural fire protection, concealed weapon permits and drug and violence education.