Prairie County Government

217 West Park Street, Terry, MT 59349-0125


Rolane Christofferson, Director
309 Garfield Avenue
PO Box 275
Terry, MT 59349-0275
Phone 406-635-5546
Fax 406-635-5546

email :


The Mission of the Prairie County Library is to provide current information, high interest materials, and reference assistance in a variety of formats for the citizens of the county. The library promotes and encourages the use of the collection of media, and will cooperate with local, state and regional libraries in resource-sharing to more effectively meet the needs of our patrons.


Library Hours:
2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Tuesday – Friday
7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Tuesdays


A five-person board appointed by the commissioners to five-year terms governs the library.

Services of the library include:

  •  VHS and DVD movie rental
  •  Audio books on cassette and CD
  •  Public-use computers with high-speed Internet access
  •  Copy, scanning and fax service
  •  Online database for books and magazines
  •  Inter-library loan program
  •  Books – approximately 12,000 books available

  • Montana State Library
  • Prairie County Library