Prairie County Government

217 West Park Street, Terry, MT 59349-0125


Ruth Peck, Clerk of Court
Stephanie Johnson, Deputy
217 West Park Street
PO Box 125
Terry, MT 59349-0125
Phone 406-635-5575
Fax 406-635-5576
Office hours: 8:00 – 12:00 and 1:00 – 5:00 Monday - Friday

Prairie County is in the Seventh Judicial District, which includes Dawson, McCone, Wibaux and Richland Counties. There is no resident judge for Prairie County; the District Judge, Olivia Rieger, comes from Dawson County. The Prairie County Clerk of District Court serves as jury administrator, issues marriage licenses, and administers criminal, civil, probate, dissolution, youth, mental, adoption, and guardianship cases filed in district court.

Regular Law and Motion days:
First Thursday of each month at 2:00 p.m. in the courtroom of the Prairie County Courthouse with the Honorable Olivia Rieger presiding.

The Clerk of District Court is prohibited by law from providing any kind of legal advice. Please contact an attorney for legal advice or forms.